ActionBarSherlock

ActionBarSherlock

ActionBarSherlock

ActionBarSherlock is an extension of the compatibility library designed to facilitate the use of the action bar design pattern across all versions of Android with a single API”

These are the words of Jake Wharton, a developer who has built a library (and not only) that allows android developers to avoid compatibility problems across android versions and that greatly simplifies apps design development. Some months ago I have tried this free product but I was disappointed by a bug related to CursorLoader that stopped with crash my app. Then I started to develop a more simply and proprietary library that I have used in WhatsUp for the LifeParticipation team, in which I’m still a member.

In the last months Wharton has continued to fix, expand and complete his work and in these days I’m building a new app that is based on this great project. At the moment I haven’t found any bug and I have found a great and simply support for plugins (as his ViewPagerIndicator) that allows me to build an app without considering some development problems.

If you’re curious, I invite you to spend some of your time trying ActionBarSherlock.
I think this one of the more important project that helps you during your android development experience.

About alchemiasoft

Android Developer at Bloomberg LP. Algorithms and performance passionate. Curious. Eager to learn.

Posted on February 11, 2012, in Android and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

